Skip to main content
site-logo
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

younglawyer
Contributor

law graduate opportunities

Just need to vent. I am in Perth and I have been looking for legal grad work for over a year now without so much as an interview. I have BPD and major depressive disorder and I really hate my current job (a non legal job that I have had all through uni). I don't have enough savings to leave this current job without having another one to go to. Not being able to find work is really starting to affect me. I just can't stay positive anymore. Everyone I graduated with has finished their RP and I haven't even found a job yet. I feel my resume gets put in the reject pile because of my grades - I was mentally and physically  unwell for my whole degree - it was a miracle that I finished. Finishing now seems irrelevant as there is no work around despite my best efforts in searching and networking. I feel like if I could find legal work my mental state would improve dramatically but there is absolutely nothing around for grads! such a sad state of affairs. Any advice or support would be appreciated.

7 REPLIES 7
Former-Member
Not applicable

Re: law graduate opportunities

Can you do paralegal work? Or is that no good? It is a tough job market out there. New year may bring more opportunities

Hi @younglawyer

I wonder if you could volunteer in a community legal centre to get some experience and meet some contacts? 

Otherwise, maybe you could ask your friends, who have managed to find jobs, if they hear of any openings coming up, on the legal grape-vine?