Skip to main content
site-logo
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Former-Member
Not applicable

Question about confidentiality

Hi there, I'm not sure if this is allowed but I just want to know if anyone knows about confidentiality after death?
Do your Dr's and psychologist have to keep your confidence?
I hope this question is allowed, sorry if it's not.
5 REPLIES 5

Re: Question about confidentiality

From what I know @Former-Member - & I'm not an expert - your medical history is still private after death. Although some doctors choose to share some information with family members after a death - it is usually just to help that family member feel better about the death.
If the cause of death is suspicious or a suicide, then your medical records (including your psych history) - can & most likely will be requested by the Coroner.
I wonder if any of the @moderators know lhe legal answer to this question?
@Sahara @NikNik

@utopia @Former-Member

re: suspicious death or suicide: I know that is definitely the case in Tassie - there is always a coronial inquest for suspicious deaths or suicide and all medical records can be requested (and usually are) - don't know about the other states.

Former-Member
Not applicable

Hi @Former-Member

i'm not sure about the answer to your question but worried about why you might be wondering this? You don't have to answer that, just wanting to check that you're safe and ok,

lj

Great question, @Former-Member.