Skip to main content
site-logo
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

lil_munchkin
New Contributor

My New Diagnoses

It's my first time here and I'm a little scared. Last year was the first time in was diagnose with Depression and Anxiety. It was only yesterday that BPD got added to my list of diagnoses, and if I'm honest it scares me so much. I'm trying to know it's nothing I should fear or be scared of. But I also struggling to feel SANE ever since. I've been reading and researching all night and it is making more and more sense that that is who I am... so why do I feel like I belong in an asylum? I know it's common and it's made things alot clearer in my mind... but there is so much fear and anxiety around it at the moment. Like what is my family and friends going to think? Will I still be able to do my job? I'm getting stuck in a head loop since leaving my appointment yesterday and just finding it really hard to digest it all at the moment.

8 REPLIES 8

Re: My New Diagnoses

Hi @lil_munchkin and welcome to the forum.

I can understand the fear that can come with receiving a diagnosis. Like you, I find it has brought up lots of questions for me. Things like is this really me, what does this say about me, am I going to be OK... etc. I've heard lots of people experience similar feelings and thoughts, particularly in the early days when it's all new and unfamiliar.

Did the person who diagnosed you (psychologist/psychiatrist maybe) speak with you about what this might mean as far as working with the diagnosis in a way that is supportive and helpful for you?