Skip to main content
site-logo
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

MDMD
Casual Contributor

Hi, I'm new to this space! Diagnosed as Bipolar Disorder 1 early this year - slowly recovering from two hospitalisations.

Hi everyone, 

I've never been one to participate in any online discussion forums, I'm more of an in-person, D&M kind of person. I love (and miss) the human interaction. But given the circumstances with COVID-19, and being unconfortable to discuss my condition with many people in my life, I am excited to get involved in these forums and to meet others who also have Bipolar Disorder. 

I'm slowly digesting the news of the diagnosis and trying to get my head around what this all means for my life. Currently I'm trying to figure out how to mould my career around the symptoms of Bipolar Disorder. 

My two hospitalisation periods were not easy. I used to be very anti-medications and so I was very afraid when I had to be medicated against my will during my first inpatient stay. I have now come to see the efficacy of mood stabilizers and am very compliant. The meds work!! 

I'm wondering how others go about making big decisions for their life (e.g. deciding between two very different jobs) when the manic state vs the depressive state would each choose a different path. I'm finding it hard to have a coherent life when I feel like I'm almost two different people.

Thanks 🙂 

11 REPLIES 11

Re: Hi, I'm new to this space! Diagnosed as Bipolar Disorder 1 early this year - slowly recovering from two hospitalisations.

@MDMD  Welcome to the forums.

I’m a D&M person myself, so I understand you there.

I will tag @eth  @frog  into the conversation, they will be really helpful.